Axos Bank First Checking vs Capital One MONEY Teen Checking
By Alex Compton · Updated
Axos First Checking and Capital One MONEY are the two best free bank-issued teen accounts that require no subscription and no existing relationship. Both cost nothing and both cap what a teen can spend in a day. The differences are age, ATM economics, and what happens at 18.
| Axos Bank First Checking | Capital One MONEY Teen Checking | |
|---|---|---|
| APY | Not stated on the official product page | 0.10% |
| Monthly Fee | $0 | $0 |
| Minimum to Open | Not stated on the official product page | None |
| ATM Access | ATM access with a $100 daily cash withdrawal limit; the product page no longer advertises an ATM fee reimbursement amount | Free at 70,000+ Capital One, MoneyPass, and Allpoint ATMs |
| Insurance | Axos Bank is FDIC insured directly; standard $250,000 coverage, no fintech middleman | Capital One, N.A. is FDIC insured directly; standard $250,000 coverage |
| Our Rating | 7.5 | 8.5 |
Where Each Wins
Age range
Capital OneMONEY opens at age 6 with a parent co-owner. Axos First Checking starts at 13, ruling out younger kids entirely.
ATM economics
Capital OneCapital One advertises 70,000+ fee-free ATMs for MONEY. Axos's product page no longer advertises a fee-free network or ATM fee reimbursements for First Checking, only a $100 daily cash limit.
Interest
Capital OneMONEY pays 0.10% APY; Axos's product page no longer states an interest rate for First Checking. Either way the yield is symbolic. Real savings belong in a linked kids savings account or, for older teens, a real HYSA.
Peer payments
Capital OneMONEY gives teens 13+ parent-controlled Zelle access with adjustable daily limits from $20 to $500, a standout for splitting costs with friends. Axos has no equivalent.
Daily guardrails
TieAxos hard-codes $100 daily cash and $500 daily debit limits. Capital One caps combined purchases and withdrawals at $500 a day for under-18s. Both prevent big mistakes without micromanagement.
Life after 18
Capital OneMONEY continues unchanged into adulthood with no fees, so the teen never has to switch banks. Axos First Checking is a 13-17 product.
The Verdict
Capital One MONEY is the better default: it starts seven years earlier, adds controlled Zelle, advertises a fee-free ATM network, and becomes the kid's adult checking account with zero friction. Axos First Checking is still a free, tightly capped account for a 13-to-17-year-old, but its product page no longer advertises the ATM fee reimbursements that used to be its edge. For most families, MONEY's range and longevity win.
Updated October 2026
Common Questions
Is Axos Bank First Checking or Capital One MONEY Teen Checking better?
Capital One MONEY is the better default: it starts seven years earlier, adds controlled Zelle, advertises a fee-free ATM network, and becomes the kid's adult checking account with zero friction. Axos First Checking is still a free, tightly capped account for a 13-to-17-year-old, but its product page no longer advertises the ATM fee reimbursements that used to be its edge. For most families, MONEY's range and longevity win.
Does Axos Bank or Capital One charge a monthly fee?
Axos Bank First Checking: $0. Capital One MONEY Teen Checking: $0.
Which earns a higher APY, Axos Bank or Capital One?
Capital One. MONEY pays 0.10% APY; Axos's product page no longer states an interest rate for First Checking. Either way the yield is symbolic. Real savings belong in a linked kids savings account or, for older teens, a real HYSA.
Which is better for age range?
Capital One. MONEY opens at age 6 with a parent co-owner. Axos First Checking starts at 13, ruling out younger kids entirely.
Related Comparisons
Rate this card
Be the first to rate it
Commentson Axos Bank vs Capital One
Comments are stored in your browser during our community preview. Accounts, moderation and cross-device sync arrive with Credit Compound Community.